Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Too Cold Inside a 70 Degree House??

on December 15, 2010

We’d heard that small dogs, being more susceptible to the cold, need to wear a sweater in the house during the winter. Our vet feels they only need to wear a sweater indoors if the temperature goes under 50 degrees for more than 20 minutes.

Daisy needs a sweater in a 70 degree house when the temperatures outside are frigid…like they are now.

I'm much warmer now!

We have very good double-pane windows that are only a few years old and keep all the drafts out, yet when the temperatures go as low as they’ve been already this season (20′s during the day with wind chills near zero at night), the house feels chilly. Of course, it doesn’t help that the heating vents are in the ceiling and, since heat rises, it’s much warmer up there than it is on the floor! What fools design these systems anyway? I usually keep the temperature at 69, but I had to raise it to 70 the other day.

Yesterday afternoon, I invited Daisy onto my lap and I felt her shivering. I was pretty chilly myself, and from what I read on Yorkie Talk, if you feel chilly in a house, chances are your small dog does too. In the discussion forum on that site, they say that 65-70 degrees works for most 10 pound dogs, but Daisy seems to need more warmth. I nudged the thermostat up a degree, which felt better for both of us (though I hate the thought of the furnace turning onmore frequently!).

For the rest of the evening, I put Daisy’s sweater on her (it’s lightweight, I think we need a heavier one), and covered Daisy with a doubled-over fleece blanket, which she seemed to love. There was no more shivering. We put the fleece blanket in her crate for the night and left her sweater on her, and everything went fine. Today she’s lying on the wood floor on top of the fleece blanket, and it seems to give her the warmth she needs. I think she’s permanently claimed that little fleece blanket!

THIS is the life!!

3 responses to “Too Cold Inside a 70 Degree House??

  1. We’re the same as you…we set the thermostat at 68 or 69. Luckily for us, Gus usually runs warm (except for the mornings), and doesn’t seem to mind the temperature.

    Daisy looks so cozy and toasty warm with her fleece blanket!

  2. tiffy40 says:

    I keep a folded up blanket in several spots for Tiffy. She also likes to snuggle in my robe, if I don’t remember to hang it up. She also enjoys basking in the sun on the living room floor:)

  3. granny1947 says:

    Good Morning RD…we are so lucky over here…no need to worry about sweaters etc…seldom gets very cold.
    Jasmine,being a big dog, does not seem to feel the cold. Mind you, give her half a chance she will get under the duvet with my granddaughter!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

