Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The Sofa Wars Continue – Fighting An Uphill Havachon Battle!

on November 23, 2010

We’ve been trying AND trying to train Daisy not to jump up on the sofa on her own – it’s NOT her domain. We’ve been following all the top trainers’ techniques to get her to understand that she can only come up on the sofa with us when we invite her. This, they say, is what well-trained dogs should do.

We’re definitely fighting an uphill battle.

She gets it – oh, she does understand what she’s supposed to do and not do – and she does obey the rules for the most part. But then she gets those particularly stubborn times when I come into the family room and there she is, proud as you please, all nestled in on the love seat.

I have to admit that I almost hate to make her get down from such a comfy spot, but we really don’t want her jumping up there at will or claiming a spot for her own or imposing herself on guests who may not be overly fond of having a dog plop itself in their laps.

And so the battle rages on.

Daisy seems to take more liberties with DD than she does with DH or me, but then again, DD is more of a softie, and Daisy sure does know it! But yesterday, with no one else in the house, I walked into the family room and found what you see in the picture, which broke me into laughter that probably sent the absolute wrong message to our dear little Daisy!

She had nestled herself into a spot next to the laundry basket so that only half her face showed – that eye was watching the doorway like a bank-robber’s lookout – and when she saw me come in, she v-e-r-y slowly pulled her head back as if she could evade my notice. I just couldn’t stop laughing!

So it’s clear that she knows she’s doing the wrong thing, but like any child, she’ll try to get away with it when no one’s looking. As I moved further into the room so she couldn’t hide from me, I quietly said “Down”, and down she went. She knew it was coming, but she just wanted to wait for the absolute command.

Ya gotta love these doggie personalities! Even when they’re naughty they can make us laugh! 🙂

3 responses to “The Sofa Wars Continue – Fighting An Uphill Havachon Battle!

  1. tiffy40 says:

    I love the expression on her face! So precious:)

  2. lol, I so get this! Ours is the opposite challenge … when I work in the kitchen, they are supposed to stay on the couch. But it never fails one jumps off and is standing by my ankles (waiting for me to drop something – they know me too well)! It’s hard to get mad at their cute little faces. I guess I have to pick my battles, and this is just not one of them 🙂 Daisy looks so cute!

  3. […] The Sneak was at it again. Last time she tried hiding on the couch behind the laundry basket; this time she thought she’d have better luck snuggling in behind a pile of soft fleece […]

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

