Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Spay Day Arriveth

on October 22, 2010

Well the Day of Spay is here. We’re dropping Daisy off at the vet at 11:00; I feel like I’ll be turning my back on my youngest child! I hate the fact that she’s going into an unknown situation alone; at least she knows and likes the vet and his assistants, that’s a little relief.

You're taking me WHERE?? To do WHAT??!!??

DD took the day off from work so we could do this together. After we take Daisy to the vet, we’re going to lunch and then spending the day shopping to keep our minds off our little pup. Maybe even a Starbucks stop in the afternoon…gotta try those fall flavors while they last!

I scheduled the spay date for a Friday so we’d all be home over the weekend, especially for Daisy’s first day home on Saturday, when she’ll still be kind of “out if it”. I don’t remember what the post-spay situation was like with our previous dog, but I do remember that she was bandaged up like a mummy; now they don’t do that, and I’m worried that Daisy will lick and gnaw at the stitches enough to cause bleeding. The vet assured me that he quintuple-knot s them, but still….

On the down side, her rash is back full force now that we stopped all the meds. I hope this won’t cause a problem with the spay, or the other way around. Once everything’s settled down again, I’m going to take her for a second opinion to a vet who combines traditional and alternative therapies in his practice. No more cortisone poison for Daisy.

Wish us luck this weekend!

5 responses to “Spay Day Arriveth

  1. tiffy40 says:

    We’ll be thinking of Daisy today too… We wish her a short and safe recovery. It’s a good idea to go shopping, it helps to pass the time during a stressful event. Have a cappuccino at Starbucks for us! Keep us posted on Daisy.

  2. Oh, poor little lady (I mean you). I know how hard it is to take your dog in and just leave them there alone. Milo was put under last week to have teeth removed, and I came back early to see him still under the anesthesia.Talk about tough seeing him like that! I am sure your pup will do great and be ready for mom and dad when she’s done.

  3. granny1947 says:

    Good Morning RD…I really must get this time zone worked out…it is five in the morning here…Sunday….think you must have already picked up Daisy…I can’t wait to hear how she reacted…poor little thing.

  4. granny1947 says:

    Oy….update please!!!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Granny, you’re so kind to be so concerned! Daisy did well with the spaying, but she’s having a hard time moving around. She whines quite a bit and seems to need lots of TLC right now. I’m hoping these next 2 weeks pass fast so she can get the stitches out and feel better. But now she also has a bad rash…. ugh. We can’t bathe her for 2 weeks….look for clothespins on our noses!! LOL

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

