Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Havachon Laundry Lessons

on October 6, 2010

Daisy seems to have a real affinity for laundry – after all, it’s the one thing that she always tries to pull off the sofa when it’s piled up, waiting to be folded…well, that and the fleece throws that she likes cuddling up with!

Whenever I take the laundry basket into the laundry room, there she is, trotting alongside me as if something exciting is about to happen. She watches me sort, toss, and start the washing machine as if she’s taking mental notes; then she seriously gets into part 2, when I move the clothes from the washer to the dryer. That’s her favorite part.

So I decided to teach her some lessons about how to do laundry – mostly to entertain myself, I guess! As I take each article of clothing out of the washing machine, I tell her “shake and throw” in a singsong voice, as I shake


This sure smells April fresh!

the folds out of wet pants and shirts, then throw them into the dryer. Again, she watches and listens intently – I swear one day I’m going to find her doing her own “shake and throw”!

Wouldn’t it be great if she could be taught to pick up anything that misses the dryer and falls on the floor? Like that occasional sock that just refuses to go into the dryer and falls down in front of her? She sniffs and sniffs anything that ends up in her domain (the floor), and playfully nips at pant legs that hang out of the dryer opening.

Maybe one day she can become a part-time laundress! 🙂

2 responses to “Havachon Laundry Lessons

  1. tiffy40 says:

    If you can get Daisy to “Shake and Throw” the laundry, please make a video of it so we can all teach our dogs to help us with the laundry. It’s probably easier teaching our dogs to help than trying to get “human help”:)

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

