Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The True Face of Danger – The Dreaded Wax Paper Roll

on September 28, 2010

Daisy’s such a little tough guy when it comes to hearing wax paper or aluminum foil being torn from its package – she comes charging into the kitchen barking her “tough guy” bark, aiming straight at the box from which the offending noise is being generated.

The Offending Paper Roll

So today, when the wax paper ran out, I decided to introduce her to the cardboard roll inside the box, just to see what she’d do with it. I held it out and she sniffed it, then just stood there staring at me. So I put the roll down and waited.

Wow. You’d think I’d just put a snake on the floor.

She backed right out of the kitchen, staring at the roll as if it were poised to strike at any second. No more barking or posturing – suddenly the little tough guy was humbled. I tried some verbal coaxing, and when that didn’t work, I picked up the roll and sweetly told her it was nice. Nope. She wasn’t buying any of it.

I didn’t want her to be afraid of this silly little object, so I put it back down and rolled it around the floor with my foot, showing her that it was fun like a toy. She just backed further into the family room.

Then I got the brilliant idea to take it into the family room. I put it down and stood next to it, talking sweetly to Daisy – “See? It’s nothing. It’s just a little roll. See how nice?” She got up the courage to give it one lukewarm sniff, which only lasted about 5 seconds.

One lukewarm attempt to check out the offender

After that she immediately backed off and walked around it, giving it a very wide berth, and stood behind me. I moved to the other side of the roll, and she followed behind me. This happened several times, so it was no coincidence.

"Hide me, Mommy!"

She never did get up the courage to really meet this new stranger, so I finally just threw the thing away. That seemed to make her day!

Quirky little puppy…..

One response to “The True Face of Danger – The Dreaded Wax Paper Roll

  1. Judy says:

    That’s cute! I wonder what she thought it was?

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

