Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

A Flurry of Teeth

on September 23, 2010

All these years that we’ve had dogs, I’ve never seen a single baby tooth come out. In fact, as I said in a previous post, I never even knew that puppies had baby teeth, let alone lost them!


What are all these things that keep popping out of my mouth??

Every website I’ve read says that it’s “rare” to find a puppy’s baby teeth when they fall out,

unless one gets stuck in a softer type of toy. Usually, they just swallow them.

Not so with this puppy. So far we’ve found 5 of Daisy’s baby teeth! Either we hear her chewing noisily and find a tooth in her mouth, or we hear her rapidly licking and when we see her tongue jutting in and out of her mouth in quick succession, we know she’s licking the blood from the spot where a tooth just came out. Inevitably, the tooth is somewhere near her on the floor.

This morning I was immersed in writing a very tricky letter that had to be tactful and legally correct. I didn’t even realize that Daisy was lying at my feet, when suddenly I heard a tick-tick-tickticktick sound. I looked down and there was Daisy, looking down in a questioning sort of way, with another tooth on the floor in front of her. This was the first tooth that came out on the hardwood floor, the others all fell out onto carpeting. I guess the sound startled her and she probably didn’t know what the heck that white thing was that just fell out of her mouth!

Boy, these puppy teeth come out like a flurry of snow once they start!

2 responses to “A Flurry of Teeth

  1. tiffy40 says:

    Wow! I never found any of my dog’s baby teeth! I’m surprised you found so many.

  2. granny1947 says:

    She is obviously very proud of the teeth…wants to show you.
    She is just the cutest little thing….makes me want to go awwwwwwwww everytime I see a picture of her!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

