Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Laundry Thief

on September 21, 2010

I'm completely innocent, I tell you!

She waits quietly, innocently even, for us to leave her alone in the family room where the clean laundry sits in a pile on a sofa, waiting to be folded.

That’s when she makes her move.

With the stealth of a master thief and the cunning of a super sleuth, she silently reaches up onto the sofa and pulls her target onto the floor. “Now,” she thinks, “now you’re all mine.”

I found Daisy yesterday surrounded on the floor by half the laundry I’d done. Socks, shirts, undies – you name it, she had it. She looked like a pirate sitting in the center of his stolen booty, pleased as she could be, nipping a sock here, a shirt there, everything getting equal play.

I scolded her and put everything back in the laundry basket to be redone, but I never got the chance to fold the rest of the laundry. I pushed it to the back of the loveseat, out of her reach…or so I thought.

Today while I was on a lengthy phone call with a friend, this little sly thing pulled her silent maneuvers again, but this time she got so excited at her find that she gave herself away. She’d pulled down a pair of socks (how she happened to end up with a matched set, I don’t know) and was doing her “new toy dance” across the floor with it. Whenever we give Daisy a new toy, she romps from one end of the family room to the other, gives it a few chews, romps back again, gives it a few more nibbles, and repeats this several times as if celebrating the newbie’s arrival.

She did this with the sock and when I heard that telltale romping, I knew something was up. I caught her in the act, romping along with ears flying and the sock streaming out behind her. I took the sock away and added the pair to the laundry basket, then went back inside. As I passed the doorway I witnessed her at work: she was stretched at full length with her paws on top of the sofa seat, stretching her neck out like a giraffe in an attempt to reach yet another piece of washed clothing.

“Down!” I yelled. She was so shocked she jumped and hasn’t tried her little ploy again….yet….

I guess I’d better go fold the remaining laundry now.

One response to “Laundry Thief

  1. tiffy40 says:

    Maybe you should teach Daisy how to fold the laundry! Now that would be quite a trick:)

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

