Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Shiatsu for Dogs… and Other Animals

on September 8, 2010

I'm ready for my massage now....

Years ago I went to a hair stylist whose hair washer had studied shiatsu. During and after the shampooing, he did shiatsu massage on clients’ scalps, and I can tell you it was one of the most wonderful, amazingly relaxing things I’ve ever experienced. My stylist could have given me a Dutch boy haircut for all I cared, I’d still have gone back again and again just for the scalp massage.

The other day, as I was cradling Daisy on my lap and watching her eyes close as I stroked her little head, it brought to mind those incredibly calming days at that hair stylist. I began thinking that it would make sense to be able to do shiatsu on dogs (and other “pettable” pets in general), so I checked it out online.

Success! The animal health care experts are streaks ahead of me. I found books and information on shiatsu for large and small animals, as well as a school that specializes in animal massage – the Northwest School of Animal Massage (www.nwsam.com). By going to their “Links” page, you can use the drop-down menu to find graduate practitioners in your US state or Canadian province (and a couple other countries as well). Apparently massage is great for animal rehabilitation, service dogs, athletic dogs, horses, etc.

They even offer distance learning so you can perform massage correctly on animals in your own home or become certified in animal massage! If you just want to do a hands-on quick-learn, there are a few books: Shiatsu for Dogs; Canine Massage;The Healing Touch for Dogs; Dog Massage: A Whiskers to Tail Guide, and a few more.

There are even YouTube videos showing how to perform Shiatsu on dogs – you’ve never seen such a relaxed bulldog! Just Google Shiatsu for Dogs and you’ll find them all. Very cool!

One response to “Shiatsu for Dogs… and Other Animals

  1. tiffy40 says:

    What a cute picture! Looks like she loves the massage:)

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

