Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The Tooth Fairy Visits

on September 7, 2010

Okay, I’ve had 4 dogs over the course of my life, and I’m somewhat embarrassed to say that I didn’t know that puppies lose their baby teeth. ::blush::

Do I get special treats from the Tooth Fairy?

This morning I walked into the kitchen and found DD sitting on the floor with a “worried mommy” expression on her face, cuddling Daisy on her lap. Immediately that awful chill of anxiety ran through me as I anticipated the worst – bloody stools, an eye problem, or some other nasty little surprise. DD said in a scared little voice, “Daisy lost a tooth. I found it on the floor near her chew ring.”

Yikes. Do puppies lose their teeth like humans do? Thank God we live in the age of the internet, because within minutes we were online Googling “Do puppies lose their teeth”.  And within a split second, good ol’ Google delivered dozens of answers that immediately calmed our frantic nerves.

Why don’t vets tell us to expect this stuff along with all the other things they prepare us for? With my past three dogs I never found a lost tooth, but the websites all said that we don’t usually find them unless we step on one of those razor-sharp babies with our bare feet. Ouch.

So the tooth fairy cometh, and now we’ll be ready for her. Daisy will be 6 months old this Monday, September 13th, so she’s right on schedule for a small dog. (Apparently, small dogs lose their “milk teeth” a little later than big dogs.)

I was a much more relaxed dog owner when I was oblivious to all this stuff!!

3 responses to “The Tooth Fairy Visits

  1. granny1947 says:

    Hello Raising Daisy….don’t feel alone…my dogs have also aways been very private about losing their teeth….do think the tooth fairy should visit,though!

  2. tiffy40 says:

    I never found one of my dogs lost teeth either and I had two dogs that I raised from puppies.

  3. lackingfunds says:

    THAT IS THE CUTEST PUPPY PIC EVER!!!!! What a sweet looking puppy!! 😀

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

