Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

CONE FREE!

on May 22, 2014

The Cone of Shame is GONE!! Finally!! Saturday Daisy had her follow-up vet visit and he was shocked at how much better her ears are. We can finally stop putting that disgusting oily medicine in her ears every night. We still have to finish up the pills over the next several weeks though.

What was our first order of business? GIVING HER A BATH!! This dirty dog hasn’t had a bath in THREE WEEKS because of her ear problem.

Here she is before the bath, all overgrown with oily ears.

Ugh. My fluffy ears are all flat! And I'm overgrown like a weed patch!

Ugh. My fluffy ears are all flat! And I’m overgrown like a weed patch!

I mean, take a look at these things!

I mean, take a look at these things!

Now she’s fluffy again….EXCEPT on her ears. DD shampooed them and shampooed them, but it’s going to take several washings to get all that oil out of her hair. Her ear flaps still look stringy. Ugh.

With my hair overgrown and my ears trimmed but still greasy, I look out of balance - my head looks too small for my fluffy, overgrown body!   I look like one of those "square sheep" in Americana paintings!

With my hair overgrown and my ears trimmed but still greasy, I look out of balance – my head looks too small for my fluffy, overgrown body! I look like one of those “square sheep” in Americana paintings!

We switched to a hypoallergenic shampoo and are looking into making our own to eliminate all those chemicals.

But here’s the downside….take a look at the horrible word on this new medication the vet gave us:

We have to use this medication in Daisy's ears twice a week for the rest of her life!

We have to use this medication in Daisy’s ears twice a week for the rest of her life!

DH’s boss, who lives near us, uses a holistic vet who has worked wonders with his dog. Although our vet is excellent and I wouldn’t consider leaving him, I plan to take Daisy to the holistic vet just to see if she can give us something more natural to ward off these awful allergic reactions in the future. Fingers crossed!

B&B3b_Fotor

We’re part of Thursday Barks and Bytes Blog Hop! Thanks to blog hosts 2 Brown Dawgs and Heart Like a Dog!

40 responses to “CONE FREE!

  1. Daisy, how great the loudspeaker is history. That is worth even a bath :o) I know oily ear meds are annoying, Easy’s ears looked yellow for some time after the treatment. (we use vetericyn now, it works better and it’s like water). I cross my paws that the holistic vet has an idea to chase the allergic reactions away for ever.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Easy! It’s nice to know someone understands how icky the aftermath of this medicine is! If I ever have to use an ear medicine again, I’ll ask about Vetericyn. The lifelong medicine is watery too, and we don’t have to use as much of it.

      • it’s a great stuff, what helps to beat inflammations down, it’s great for small ouchies too. it’s hard to clean the ears from this oily treatments, we can’t wash it away with a shower and not all furkids are patient and wait till I removed it bit by bit :o)

  2. Kuruk says:

    Freeeee! Wooooooowoooooooooo!

  3. Bailey says:

    Glad you are free. Hope the holistic Vet has some other options.

  4. Jodi says:

    Thank you for joining the blog hop!

    Sorry to hear that Daisy has had such a difficult time with her ears. We use a holistic vet combined with our traditional vet and so far it is working out very well. I hope you’ll keep us posted. But I am glad she is cone free, I feel terrible sticking the dang cone on my dog!

  5. It's Dog or Nothing says:

    Looking so much more happy and comfortable after that bath! Hopefully, you can find an answer that doesn’t require drop for life. Those sorts of medication aren’t fun for anyone : /

  6. jan says:

    We have had good luck with a holistic approach. Hope it works out.

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    Good news about the cone. She looks all pretty after her bath. I wonder if a change in food would help her ears?

    Thanks so much for joining the hop. :)

  8. Barbara says:

    Yaaaaay, free again, it must feel so getting that thing off your head, but worth it all to get your ears better Daisy! I hope the holistic vet can suggest an alternative medication for your ears.

  9. Coccolino says:

    Yay Daisy!! So happy to hear it and that you’re all clean. I really hope the holistic vet can help!

  10. kolytyi says:

    OMG, you must publicize some videos about Daisy! Whenever I look at her pics, I cannot believe that she is a living creature and not a plush toy! How can a real dog be so incredibly cute???? :-)

  11. KDKH says:

    Good plan for the holistic vet in addition to allopathic vet z my holistic vet recommended using high quality (human) shampoo in our dogs. They have hair (poodle, silky terrier, etc) rather than fur, so that makes sense. You might like that better. See what the holistic vet recommends. Congratulations, Daisy for being cone-free!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      OMG I can’t believe I didn’t think of that myself! What a great idea. I did find a recipe for an all-natural homemade shampoo that I might try out on Daisy as well – certainly can’t hurt!

  12. dogdaz says:

    OMG! Sofie Bear is suffering with the same thing. Oily ears from allergy ear infection meds. Let us know what the natural vet says please. Meds for life is very hard. Looking very fluffy and clean now though. – Lorian (Mom) of DogDaz

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’m sorry to hear Sofie Bear is going through the same thing! It’s as miserable for the pups as it is for us, I’m sure. We’ll definitely let you know what the holistic vet says.

  13. Puff happy dance for no more cone of shame! Daisy looks so much happier with a bath. Hopefully her ears will fluff now that the new medicine isn’t oily. Good luck with the holistic vet and we all would like to be kept updated on things! Hope you are doing better too!
    Marty and Mom and the Puffs

  14. I know you’re thrilled, and so is Daisy, to lose the cone of shame, but poor little girl and her oily ears! I feel so sorry for her. Do let us know how the trip to the holistic veterinarian works out for you and if you gain an alternative method for her poor ears. A friend of ours just told us about their puppy’s experience with a new holistic vet. The dog has diabetes and with traditional methods was really not doing very well. They’ve followed a new diet that requires they cook up some of the most unusual concoctions for the dog’s diet, but it has changed a sick pup to one that is thriving. I suspect you’ll have some positive results, too. And I hope that YOU are also doing better…now that Daisy is doing well, it’s your turn. :-)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s really encouraging Debra, thanks for sharing that story. Now I’m really anxious to take Daisy to the holistic vet. I agree, it’s time for me to switch gears and follow Daisy’s example! ;)

  15. Kurome says:

    You look great after the bath :)
    I hope the holistic vet can help you more…for life is a looooooong time.

  16. megtraveling says:

    I’m so happy that cone is off and Daisy is just as cute as ever!

  17. Mags Corner says:

    Yeah! We are so happy for you sweet Daisy that you are finally out of the cone. Bet that bath felt good and you look adorable after your bath and do. Hope you are successful in getting something more natural to keep those ole allergies at bay sweet girl. Hope you all are having a wonderful weekend. Hugs and nose kisses

  18. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Daisy

    So happy you’re cone free at last!!

    You still look super pretty despite the oily ear thing! :) My Mom is using African Black Soap (buy it on Amazon) on me (and her) right now, your Mum might want to take a look at it?

    Good look with the holistic vet, I hope they can find a solution for you,

    How’s your Mom doing?

    Big hugs to all,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  19. Marcie says:

    I definitely remember the oily ear medication I had to give my dog and the oily fur it left behind. At least it did the trick in getting the ear infection under control though! Glad Daisy is doing better and got to be done with the cone!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

