Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

A Snowy Easter Surprise

on April 21, 2014

Tuesday morning, just a few days before Easter, we woke up to another snowfall!

During one of my slow strolls outdoors over the previous weekend, this was what our daffodil patch looked like:

Happy spring daffodils in our front yard.

Happy spring daffodils in our front yard.

And here it is Tuesday morning:

Unhappy frozen daffodils.

Unhappy frozen daffodils.

Kind of hard to believe those pics are only a few days apart!

It seems so incongruous to see spring buds on a frozen tree:

spring snow 4.14 2

Now, I know most people here in the northeast are talking about how tired they are of all the snow we’ve had this winter, but I’m not one of them. As all my blog buddies know, I LOVE snow and would live in a year-round autumn-winter climate if there was one – with, of course, an annual 3-month break for spring to plant my gardens and give the trees enough leaves so they could change color and fall again! I could do without summer altogether. (Don’t throw rotten tomatoes at me!)

I discovered that I can’t take walks around my yard anymore because the other day, my heel hit a slight depression in the grass, which normally I wouldn’t even have noticed. But with my back still so sensitive, it felt like a bolt of lightning went through my lower spine. That set me back a bit pain-wise; then that evening I sneezed twice, which caused the pain to skyrocket. Apparently more muscles in the body contract during a sneeze than I realized!

So I’m back indoors now (which is fine, Friday was a whole 39 degrees!) and will attempt another venture outdoors this week – but this time, I’ll only walk on even sidewalk surfaces! And of course, my little sweetie will come with me…if I can pry her off my floor bed!

Daisy, cozy in my floor blankets, with the Guilty Gate behind her.

Daisy, cozy in my floor blankets, with the Guilty Gate behind her.

39 responses to “A Snowy Easter Surprise

  1. Oh no, that Mr. Winter has no calendar…. I hope you feel better soon . I admit I’m a fan of fall too and if you ask me, we could skip summer ( searching for my umbrella to be protected from flying tomatoes)

  2. Oh crap! I hope you feel better and that nothing too serious is going on with the back.

  3. granny1947 says:

    I am with you all the way…hate being hot and sweaty…maybe I shouldn’t live in Africa?
    Stay away from the pepper pot!

  4. KDKH says:

    Our weather isn’t sure of the season, either. We had now last weekend -which made it east to you on Tuesday. Sorry your back is still out, but glad Daisy is there to assist! Take care.

  5. kolytyi says:

    We had such a crazy spring-winter mix last year – it was terrible! I’d like a three-seasons-year, too – or even a two-seasons-year: spring, autumn, spring, autumn…
    Please be careful with the steeplechase trainings! :-)

  6. Will and Eko says:

    Hope you guys get some nice walks in, and hope those daffodils can shake off the snow.

  7. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, how I am with you on having no summer. I can deal very well with the other seasons but hot, humid summer days don’t agree with me and I dread them. So sorry about your back and the pain. Take good care of you and get all healed so you can once again enjoy walking in the yard. Sweet Daisy looks adorable enjoying your bed. :) Hugs and nose kisses

  8. 2browndawgs says:

    Sorry to hear about the snow and the set back. Aside from the one day of snow, our weather has been pretty nice. I think it may turn colder for a few days though. I hope you had a nice Easter.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Here too – tomorrow is supposed to hit 70 and then Wednesday it goes back down to 50. Crazy! DH and DD took my elderly aunt out for Easter and I stayed home nursing my back. I usually host holidays, but this time it was impossible. Still, they brought me back a nice appetizer!

  9. barb19 says:

    Well, you definitely wouldn’t like living in Oz – well, not in my state anyway (Queensland), because we have HOT summers and only slightly cooler winters! Watch that back, we don’t want to hear you have damaged it even more. Hope Daisy is improving too, and that the snow disappears very soon – for good!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I think that unusually late snowfall was winter’s last hurrah….I think. Yes I have to stay mindful of my back, I tend to rush things and that would be a BIG mistake with this type of injury! Our town’s paramedics are outstanding, but I hope I never see them again!

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Daisy

    You’re doing a great job of being your Mum’s nurse! I hope you keep her safe on her next adventure outside and give her a big extra hug from Mum and I!!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  11. Misaki says:

    Although I’m happy enough in spring, I like the cooler temperatures too. Hope you’re feeling better xx

  12. Glad to hear you are getting out and about. Lovely to see a picture of sweet Daisy, we have missed her :) Hope you continue on the mend and the weather stays temperate for you!
    Marty and Mom

  13. Clowie says:

    The daffodils are beautiful!
    I’m sorry you’re still suffering. Sneezing can be difficult! I wish you a speedy recovery.

  14. oh thankfully they stood to attention again :-)

  15. writetowag says:

    Oh no…the flowers were so beautiful before the snow!!!! Trev and I send you well wishes and healing…Take care and big hugs!!!!

  16. We keep getting bouts of snowfall here, too; spring is so unstable, weather-wise. But I’m more than ready for some sunshine already! :) I hope you’re feeling better this week….

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Sheryl! Every week has the little improvements that keep me feeling positive. :) I figure by June we should have warmer weather LOL – last night it was 32 with a heavy 50 mph wind that made it feel like 23!

  17. I’m so glad to know that you’re not unhappy with the lingering snow. I think in this you are quite exceptional. I think you’d better continue to take it easy and let yourself fully heal before you even try to resume any “normal” activity. Your body has had quite a jolt. Daisy looks like she’s still a little confused about all that’s gone on. She must not trust that gate either! You take care!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Funny you should say that – Daisy actually does fear the gate. She’s been afraid of it since the first time it fell over and made a loud noise when it hit the floor. Now she looks at it with very wide eyes and a LOT of concern! Yes, it does seem that normal activity is a little way off yet – my trial car ride this weekend set me back a bit.

  18. megtraveling says:

    I hope you start feeling better soon and also that spring will be here to stay soon!!

  19. The “ghostly glow” is really funny! Poor little thing. The fact that she’s adjusted to it almost makes it even sadder. I hope this won’t last that much longer. It’s messing with her otherwise impeccable fashion sense! :-)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL! We take her for a follow-up visit to the vet on Saturday, and I’m hoping he’ll give us the “all clear”. I can’t wait to give her a bath and get all that oily medication off her ears, they’re a mess!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

