Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Bug Season is Back…Are Stink Bugs Poisonous to Dogs?

on April 29, 2011

I’m not a fan of bugs, especially spiders. YUCK. The very word makes my stomach turn.

Image via Wikipedia

And that’s the one thing I dislike most about spring and summer – the bugs emerge, bigger and more resistant to pesticides every year. They get into the house who-knows-how and I swear they laugh as they terrorize me. Why on earth are spiders getting so darned BIG??! I heard last year that because summers here in the northeast are hotter and more humid than ever, bugs are growing bigger, more like tropical bugs.

I need to move to Alaska.

We’ve already gotten four stink bugs in the house, far more than typically come into the house in an entire spring/summer season. Stink bugs are the skunks of the insect world. Then I heard an expert say that our tri-state area is seeing unprecedented numbers of stink bugs already, and they’re trying to figure out what’s causing such a dramatic increase in their population. At least now I know why I’m seeing so many of them.

I’m not going to like the next 4 months, I just know it.

What just buzzed me? Let me at it!

DD doesn’t mind stink bugs; she thinks they’re cute (!), so when we find one in the house, she gently coaxes it onto her hand, then she takes it outside and lets it go. She’s my hero.

I hate the things. I know they don’t bite or sting, but they just freak me out. So when I was home alone and one boldly buzzed by my head, I got out the vacuum. Since I can’t crush them or put the fear of God into them by chasing them because they’ll stink the place up in retaliation, I thought I’d just vacuum it up.

Mistake.

Apparently even dead stink bugs release their noxious fumes. Because a couple of days later, I noticed a most objectionable smell in the house. Naturally I suspected Daisy, but it wasn’t her this time. It took us hours of thinking and nose-pinching before I said, “I vacuumed a stink bug the other day, could that be it?”

It was. I’ll never do that again.

If I eat a stink bug, I might make an even sillier face than this!

So the other night, when another stink bug buzzed us, I immediately grabbed Daisy and held her so she wouldn’t try to eat the thing. It’s small and moves, which makes it a perfect playmate for Daisy that she can also turn into a snack when it no longer gives her something to chase.  DD did her magic and got the stinkin’ creature out of here. But I started wondering – are stink bugs poisonous to dogs if they do eat them?

Apparently not. Thank goodness! BUT – the stink bug’s stench comes right out through the dog. YUCK! Dogs who eat stink bugs throw up several times and get a weird look on their face, probably because of the awful taste. At least this is what I’ve read in a bunch of online forums.

There’s a great article on this in The Anipal Times, which confirms that these yucky bugs are nothing more than irritants to cats and dogs and can cause not only vomiting but also foaming at the mouth.

I really hope we get through the summer without Daisy eating one and turning into a frothy, vomiting stinker!

38 responses to “Bug Season is Back…Are Stink Bugs Poisonous to Dogs?

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    I hate bugs too! Absolutely hate them. I can’t stand them at all. They creep me out and sicken me with their disgusting crawling icky yuckyness- UGH!

    I hope that Daisy never munches on a stink bug! Yuck!

    • My little Zorba 18 3/4 yr old Chihuahua died a horrible death in Aug. he was vomiting white frothy emesis..I did,nt think it was anything serious. By the time I noticed how weak he was and got him to the vet who saw him immediatly the vet said he could not get any bld. on a draw to even test on him. He put him on 02 gave IV fluids antibiotics and pain shots. He was whimpering in the little 02 mask , I knew he was suffering and agreed with the vet he neede to sleep. To this day I am looking for anything that could have caused this. He was not ill any time recently. I had to remove a stink bug the other day and today saw one outside my window and wondered if they were poisonous. A woman on another dog blog said her terrier ate a black stink bug and was dead three days later. Everone else seems to think they are not poisonious. So here I am still trying to find what could have made my lifetime friend so ill. I miss him………

      • raisingdaisy says:

        I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, especially the awful way it happened. What a heartbreaking experience. I’ve never seen a black stink bug, but I’m sure there are different varieties of bugs in other geographic areas that may not be as common, but which may be toxic. A family friend was bitten on the ankle by a spider that was supposedly an average non-poisonous spider, yet he developed a high fever and eventually lost his foot. Plus we’re now hearing about normal mosquitoes carrying diseases not normally found in the US. It’s impossible to protect ourselves and our pets from all this craziness, but you did the best you could possibly do. It breaks my heart that you and your dear friend went through so much.

    • Kim lorton says:

      Well, I hate to burst your stink bug, but… My dog eats them after plating with them every time.. If he doesn’t eat them after they are dead, he comes baxk the next day and eats it! He has never vomited, foamed at the mouth and seems to think it is his sworn duty to find them, play terrorize them and then eat them. He is still alive and crunching today! Actually he ate 3 in the last 2 hours. It is Dec. and they are everywhere! All year round… Ugh.

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    LOL FINALLY someone who cringes right along with me! Most people just laugh at my reactions and they go into the whole story of how bugs are necessary blah blah blah. I KNOW that, but they DO NOT belong in my house! Let them carry on with their place in the balance of ecology OUTSIDE, where they belong! Because in this house, there’s a zero tolerance policy. ::shudder::

  3. Ugghhhh – Gus LOVES to roll in stink bugs. It’s the most disgusting thing. He doesn’t eat them, but if he finds one in the yard, he will roll in it and cover himself in the disgusting stench.

    It’s seriously really the only gross thing he does. Thank goodness he doesn’t like to roll in other stinky stuff!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Oh ick! From what I’ve read, dogs in the wild roll in things with strong smells to mask their own scent. I guess Gus is in touch with his “inner wolf”. LOL!

    • Kim lorton says:

      I can beat you there… My dog, the stink bug eater, loves to roll on cockroaches! Ew!! When he sees them, he gets down low, and rubs his face on it, EW!!! And then rolls his body on it. Ew! Once I saw that, I started watching him on a visit to do his doodie, and make sure there is no roach rolling!!

  4. Judy says:

    We’ve gotten a few stink bugs in the house and I have my sons remove them. I haven’t seen any lately. I have seen however, bugs that I find much more objectionable “Ticks”! At least the stink bugs leave you alone, ticks will burrow into your skin YUCK! I guess it’s that time of year again. Get out the bug spray:)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Ticks are disgusting, I absolutely hate the. I used to go hiking in the woods a lot, and I ended up with Lyme Disease one year. Not fun. Too many blood tests for my taste!

  5. Ants give me the creepy crawlies. Geckos, too. Yes, that’s right, geckos. They enter our apartment at night when we’re all asleep and the next morning we see a trail of surprises that they kindly left behind. Double yuck! This is the first time I’ve heard of stink bugs and, after reading your experience with them, I’m not sure I’d want to have an encounter with one…

  6. Kas says:

    Oh my goodness I HATE stinkbugs. They’re like cockroaches — they won’t die!!! Our dogs love to bat them around and nip at them … And then the stinkbugs spray and stink up the place. I wish they would just go away!

    And another note, when Diesel was a baby, he licked one of those fuzzy brown/black caterpillars. I thought he was going to die — he would not stop throwing up. I rushed him to the vet (in a panic) and all they could do was monitor him and give him fluids. Thankfully everything was fine – the sticklers that those caterpillars have on them are a protective mechanism to keep animals like silly puppies from eating them!

  7. barb19 says:

    Stink bugs sound awful, haven’t encountered one yet (perhaps we don’t get them in Oz). We have enough bugs of our own to contend with!
    Yesterday when I went to pick up Poppy from the groomer, I saw a python wrapped round the branch of a tree in her yard! Yikes – and he was a big one as well. The parrots kept dive-bombing him.

  8. Just popping by from another pet blog! Oscar and I love checking out new blogs! :D

    I’m not a huge fan of spiders either. I’ll have the same reaction to any spider despite their size. I don’t know why, but I stepped into the insect house at the zoo purely out of curiosity and came across the creepiest spiders I’ve ever seen! I was frozen in the middle of the room and didn’t move an inch until a friend guided me out of there!

  9. The Hook says:

    There are a lot of things to consider when a dog owns you, right?

  10. me too says:

    I crushed one on my keyboard just now, unknowing that it was a stink bug. My god does it smell!

  11. Ash says:

    I 100% agree with you these things are nasty!! I can’t stand to touch them and when they land on me I do a little dance to get them off. Imagine the horror when I smelled one and couldn’t find it, only to look at my 7 month old son who had it hanging out of his mouth!!! Needles to say we “bushed” his mouth out with his baby tooth paste and gave him some food to help get the smell and taste to go away. Oh I so hope he never does that again!!

  12. I hate those stink bugs too, and if you want try putting a glass full of fresh vinegar on the table – just might help…I feel bad for you daisy- ;(
    I hate bugs and spiders and today I had to help my dad, two sisters move big rocks for a garden in the new house she bought. I cannot name what was under each of them, too many “thingy/bugs” to mention here. I know my cats would run away too…I know if I line my sliding glass doors with “cinnamon” or “kyen” ants won’t cross it. I wish I could help.

  13. Judy says:

    We tend to get stink bugs too. I think I removed at least three of them from the house this year:(

  14. Roughneck says:

    Thanks for the info, my dog Star loves to chase bugs and snap them in her mouth, she doesn’t eat them but likes to kill them and leave them. She got a stinkbug this morning and I’ve been worried about her. At least Gus only rolls in stinkbugs lol, Star appearantly enjoys rolling in horse dung, it’s horrific.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’ve read that dogs roll in dung and stink bugs from a natural instinct to camouflage their own scents. It doesn’t blend well with their domesticated lifestyles though! ;)

  15. I pressed the “Like” button on this but I am not sure that “Like” is a particularly appropriate response here – it all sounds just horrible. I am a firm believer in removing from my presence anything with more than 4 legs. I’m a real baby about it. Here in South Africa, we get a most horrible thing called a Parktown Prawn. It doesn’t smell but I’ve yet to meet anyone who could possibly like them. I think I’ll have to do a blog on them, just so you guys see what nasty things we get to deal with (on top of stink bugs).

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree with you – if it’s a creepy crawly, it better not be in my vicinity! I can only imagine what kinds of things you get in such a warm climate – Granny, another blogger from South Africa, took a picture of a horrendously huge spider that was in her house – I’d have packed up and moved!

  16. dawn says:

    My dog panda was out side i was a nice day and i guess she found a stink bug and when she came in she spit it up on my bed and it was still alive and was walking aroundon my bed yuck i hate buds but panda loves them i hope they wont hurt her

  17. Gina says:

    LOL! If you can’t handle stink bugs DON’T move to Alaska! I live in Fairbanks and they are everywhere up here in the summer. I was working in the yard today and stopped half a dozen times to remove them from my clothing because I could smell them. They hitch rides on us and our dogs and end up in the cabin, it’s a vicious cycle all summer long…. I pick them up and either take them outside or flush ‘em down the toilet (depends on my mood). Speaking of which, I can smell one now, just haven’t found it yet…oh, it’s in my hair. Lol.
    They’re harmless critters but they are annoying. However, many scientists are studying them for their incredible ability to withstand winters as cold as minus 60F up here. They have an antifreeze type protein in their blood that is really quite amazing. Once this can be reproduced who knows what benefits we can gain from it.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

